Cancel versus Closed

Cancel versus Closed

Typically, we've closed requests with a cancel code that are "canceled." We now see that users are given access to the "Cancel" button, and I'd like to explore switching to using the cancel status.

Cancelling typically denotes a removal of something from the process versus closing which means stopping something where it is in the process.

What effects does canceling have for a request have on reporting and metrics? For example, will the canceled request still show up in my volume of tickets handled or will canceling remove it from the volume count?

Thanks,
Adam