Archive or delete a team

Archive or delete a team

Archive or delete teams in your organization

Teams created in your organization may remain unused at the end of a project, if the team owner leaves the organization, and so on. These unused teams can accumulate and burden the tenant resources. Normally, it's best to delete an unused team but you can also archive it if you feel that the team will be of use in the near future.

When a team is archived, all activities of that team cease. The team's private channels and its associated site collection are also archived. However, you can still add or remove members, update roles, and view the team activity in standard and private channels, files, and chats that took place before the archiving. Deleting a team deletes all the channels, site collections, and activities associated with it.

To archive a team using the Microsoft Teams admin center:

To delete a team using the Microsoft Teams admin center:

Delete or archive teams in bulk using M365 Manager Plus

The user-friendly interface helps you easily delete teams in bulk by simply importing a CSV file. You can also create automated workflows in the tool to manage Teams. This will help save time and reduce your workload.

To delete teams in bulk using M365 Manager Plus:


To archive teams in bulk using M365 Manager Plus:

To learn more about managing Microsoft Teams using M365 Manager Plus, click here.